Google, tasks and Pure calendar

8 01 2010

You may already know that ‘Pure calendar’ can show Astrid tasks.

Why Astrid and not directly Google Tasks ?
Because Google doesn’t provide any API for tasks.

But Astrid is syncable to ‘Remember the milk’ service (for free).
If you sign up with Remember The Milk you can get a gadget for it that goes inside Gmail or Google Agenda. Once you do that you can link the program Astrid to sync with your Remember the Milk account.

About ‘remember the milk’ : click here

For ‘remember the milk’ google agenda gadget : click here

For ‘remember the milk’ gmail gadget : click here

An Astrid review : click here

Actions

Information

45 responses

10 01 2010
flapee

Let me correct that … GTasks does no html parsing ;)

10 01 2010
koxx3

Sure ? are you the dev ?

10 01 2010
flapee

NO! I’m the Santa :D … of course I’m

10 01 2010
koxx3

Ok. I beleive you ;)
I removed my sentence from my post.
So .. there is a background API for tasks … very interesting.
Do you share informations about it ?

10 01 2010
flapee

Would you give up your most valued advantage?

10 01 2010
koxx3

No… but it costs nothing to ask :D

10 01 2010
flapee

Well, in case you want (as the article hints) to integrate tasks with pure calendar, we might try to find a way

10 01 2010
koxx3

I tried few weeks ago, but was research gave nothing.
And this is not a priority since Astrid integration works fine ;)

10 01 2010
koxx3

but now I am “intrigued” ! :p

12 01 2010
Norman

From an end user (and IT) point of view, I find very boring to be obliged to use a modified ver. of astrid, and more, to use this service when the big G already provides it B-)

12 01 2010
flapee

I thought that astrid provided this by default :) …. may be there is more reason to find a way with koxx3, so gTasks and pureCal widget can integrate together …

12 01 2010
koxx3

Eh bien quand Google proposera une vrai API publique, j’y passerai :)
En attendant, j’ai proposé mes sources modifiées de Astrid au dev principal pour merge, mais il ne semble pas préssé …

14 01 2010
Steve

Is anyone working on an app like this that will sync with my outlook calendar???? I miss the list of upcoming events on my blackberry pearl! Lived my life looking at them and as I get older they are a godsend to my memory.

14 01 2010
koxx3

It can already sync with outlook.
Either trhough Exchange server, either with a Google tool to sync your local calendar with google calendars servers.

24 11 2011
Gary

I have managed this…if you’re on an exchange server, it won’t work. For those you need one of the sync and proprietary products specifically for Exchange…Touchdown, Mobier, etc. If you’re NOT on an exchange server, I recommend GSyncIt by Fieldstone. It syncs your contacts, calendar events, TASKS, and NOTES with gmail and Google calendar. Then you can use Calengoo (my other favorite) for both tasks and calendar. It all works well.

– no link to commercial products –

I’ve been reading a lot of posts about the difficulties with tasks, and all the various task managers, etc. I researched this A LOT myself, trying every combination of products…what a mess it is. The BIG problem is…there is NO programming standard for task managers. Unlike Calendars, of which there are three coding standards that all calendar products use, every task management software is completely different, which is why it is near impossible to make your first choice of applications talk to each other. For example, NOTHING talks to the task manager in Mozillas Lightning/Thunderbird. Google tasks is basically worthless to any serious task manager user, but it is one of the only conduits to an android phone…on and on.
Plus…and this is for everyone…we all seem to want something different in task mgrs…and I bless the developers that can accomplish even a small portion of our “wants”. Peace all.

16 01 2010
Lluis

GUYS YOU SHOULD GET TOGETHER !!!

this widget NEEDS tasks to be PERFECT !!!!!
:-)

Lluís

16 01 2010
koxx3

I agree ;)

9 02 2010
Will

Hi,
I have a quick questions about Astrid integration. I just installed the Market version of Astrid. Pure Calendar is bringing up notices saying I need a special version of Astrid (kx103 – I get a dialog when I open pure calendar settings), but my Astrid tasks are appearing in Pure Calendar.

Is the Market version of Astrid recent enough now that you no longer need the special version (ie are your patches upstream yet)? Or are there even more features I get if I use the special version of Astrid?

I’d really rather remain with the Market version of Astrid because it allows easy checking for updates. If I install a special .apk then that’ll get out of date over time.

Oh, while I’m here. Pure Calendar lists undated todo tasks at the top of the agenda. a) is there a way to set a maximum number of tasks to list so it doesn’t push everything else off the agenda? b) currently a tap opens the calendar app. It might be nice if a tap on the ToDo tasks opened Astrid.

Be well

9 02 2010
koxx3

Hi,
Last market version of Astrid integrate all required features for Pure calendar. Don’t need the special version anymore… just ignore the warning message, it will be removed in the next version.
To limit number of tasks : filter by importance or by tag.
To open astrid, either tap left part and task, either configure right part to ‘ask’ or ‘astrid’.
ciao,
Francois

9 02 2010
Will

Thanks for the quick response. It took me a little while to figure out exactly what you meant. I’ll expand on it a little here in case someone else is trying to figure this out.

If you tap on the left side of a day title then you get a dialog showing the full agenda for that day. It has two little “add” or + buttons in the bottom left. These allow you to add either an event or a task.

The other suggestion was to configure a tap on the main part of the widget to ‘ask’. This is a new option (don’t know how new) in the settings where you can select what type of calendar to open.

In my case, I really wanted to open Astrid to mark some tasks as done. This makes tasks a little different to events because you don’t really ever mark events as done. My natural reaction in that use case is to tap on the task I want to mark done. However, normally I want to open the calendar with a tap. At the moment I’ve set things to ‘ask’, but in general it would be nice if the widget would detect where it was tapped and respond appropriately.

Thanks again for a great app though :).

Oh, on syncing tasks. I’d just keep talking with Astrid. The syncing functionality fits better in Astrid than your widget.

9 02 2010
koxx3

“In my case, I really wanted to open Astrid to mark some tasks as done. This makes tasks a little different to events because you don’t really ever mark events as done. My natural reaction in that use case is to tap on the task I want to mark done. However, normally I want to open the calendar with a tap. At the moment I’ve set things to ‘ask’, but in general it would be nice if the widget would detect where it was tapped and respond appropriately.”

It is not possible, in the widget, lines are too small to be clickable.
This is the reason why I splitted into left/right part.
Left : individual day viewer (with possibility to click to edit a task)
right : app launcher

“The syncing functionality fits better in Astrid than your widget.”

I don’t understand what you mean.

13 12 2011
pier

Hi,
I am using Astrid and I would like to limit the number of tasks shown in the widget depending on due date: I have a lot of tasks with expire date within (let’s say) six months and I would like to see only task expiring in the next week (month).
Is it possible?
Thanks,
pier

13 12 2011
koxx3

Hi,
for tasks display, 2 solutions :
- display all tasks on their due date
- display all tasks on the current day.
If you want to suggest another behavior, please push your request in the suggestion module (see blog header tab).

10 02 2010
Rick

I just discovered GQueues. Have you considered linking that with Pure Calendar? Or is that even possible?

11 02 2010
koxx3

No :
- it is not a Google service but it tries to look like (I don’t really think it’s smart)
- they currently doesn’t provide any API to share data.

22 02 2010
Mark

Going back to Gqueues, it would be great if you would show it. It does integrate with the google calendar, shows up on the google calendar on the web and on my Eris…but not on pure calendar. Now that it does link with google calendar, can you link it. It’s much better than astrid and gtasks.

Thanks,

Mark

22 02 2010
koxx3

Hi, unfortunately, this is not only a ‘link’ to the application. Software which contains data (Moxier) have to be able to share data with 3rd party apps… and it is not the case. So, I can’t do anything except launching the application.

22 02 2010
koxx3

GQueues doesn’t provide API to interface it at this time. So, it is not possible.

30 03 2010
David Crommie

I love the calendar with one exception. My google calendar no longer works. It’s fine on my laptop, but is mostly blank on the droid. Does your widget make the google calendar on the droid not work?

30 03 2010
koxx3

No, I don’t think so.
It only READ the calendar database (except when you add an event with the ‘quick event insersion’).
I have a Droid, and I don’t have any problem like this and nobody else reported such problem (with 20000 users).

31 03 2010
David Crommie

Thank you. I went back to the initial settings and saw that the wrong google calendar was selected. All is well now.
David

31 03 2010
Mabo

I’m having a small problem with Pure Calendar – I’m trying to use Astrid as a task manager, but no matter what tags I select in the settings, ALL of the tasks in Astrid show up. For example, say I have ‘tag1′ and ‘tag2′ set up in Astrid, but in Pure Calendar I only want to see ‘tag1′ in my calendar view. I’ll check the Astrid option in the PC settings, and in Filter By Tags, I’ll check ‘tag1′. But when I Save & Exit, ‘tag1′ & ‘tag2′ shows up. It crowds everything else off my calendar and is generally annoying. What am I doing wrong? I’ve got a droid 2.0.1.

31 03 2010
koxx3

did you unselect generic tags such as ‘[tagged]‘ and ‘[untagged]‘ ?

6 05 2010
Staid

I love your apps, great job all around. The only things I really want is some way to sync my tasks from Google. From the above posts it looks like you may have a way to do it eventually. I had a free agenda app that was awesome, but I bought yours because of the task support. I guess I should have read a little more before buying, but your apps are worth it… so it’s all good. I just really hope you can add this in the near future. Not sure why Google doesn’t support task syncing even within the native Android calendar. Seems like a given to me.

6 05 2010
koxx3

Hi,
It already support Google Tasks with gTasks application interface. gTasks sync Google tasks on the phone, and after that I am able to show them in the widget.

17 09 2010
Gideon

maybe you can add other task manager SSI gtasks, i really like can you allow gtask to be shown in calendar?

and move app to sd

and if possible create event by selecting an email, use subject as event title and body as description, allow to set dates and time and all day.

besides that nice app and widgets, a bit complicated to setup but after that, great

17 09 2010
koxx3

Hi,

maybe you can add other task manager SSI gtasks, i really like can you allow gtask to be shown in calendar?
>>> there is already 5 tasks provider supported, why do you want more ? and there is 2 for Google tasks !

and move app to sd
>>> this is STRICTLY FORBIDDEN by Google, you should never force it, and it will kill the widget.

and if possible create event by selecting an email, use subject as event title and body as description, allow to set dates and time and all day.
>>> this is not the purpose of a widget.

13 02 2011
Anja

Hi!
I have been relying on Pure Calendar with Got to Do integration for quite a while now and absolutely love it! But today there were updates for both Pure Cal and GTD, so I updated both. After that, Pure Cal refuses to show tasks from GTD which frustrates me quite badly. Of course, I don’t know which one of the updates made the mess since I did both at the same time. I checked all settings, tried inserting a new widget, restarted and all that. No luck.

Is there anything I can do to make it work again, or is it one of the apps that needs to be fixed?

Thanks for some great Pure apps!

14 02 2011
koxx3

Hi,
GotToDo instroduced a bug in the 1.4.0 version.
He published a 1.4.1 version which fixed the bug few minutes ago…
ciao,
Francois

26 06 2011
NubiBlue

The problem I have is that your information shows that Pure Calendar can sync with Calengoo. It will show events but will not now show tasks. It did when I had Astrid installed. Are you now saying that the task element comes from Astrid and not Calengoo? If not, please can you advise me how to enable tasks (I’ve pressed all the relevant button) directly from Calengoo, which is supported.

27 12 2011
francois d

Hi,
I have tried multiple settings and task provider apps, but can’t ever get to show task color. They always are the same color.
Any idea ?

27 12 2011
koxx3

Hi,
tasks bullets colors are defined by their priority.

27 12 2011
francois d

Hi, thanks for your prompt reply !

So i I understand, I need to use one of the supported task host app that actually supports priority management ?

I have several categoris for my tasks and I wish I could see the color code like on events… Tags and lists won’t do ???

If not, do you have such a feature in the works ? I’m sure many others would benefit from it !

And thanks anyway for one of the best apps out there ;)

28 12 2011
koxx3

Hi,
no, there is no plan to affect colors by tags or lists.
For such request, please use the suggestion module :
http://koxx3.wordpress.com/suggestions/
It allows me to know how many people could be interested by such features.
ciao,
Francois

29 08 2012
Samuel Gabel (@smlgbl)

Any update on this? Meanwhile Google does provide an api for tasks…
This way you wouldn’t depend on other programs to provide that. And I could just use whatever Tasks app I like and not be confined to your selection.
Other than that, I really *love* this widget.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 163 other followers

